The 39 Clues Card Packs, Board Game, Puzzle and 2010 Calendars

null

Okay, this isn’t exactly a book review, but it is extremely relevant to The 39 Clues multimedia “online universe”, which, of course includes books. Each of the 10 books (book 7 to be released February 2010) comes with 6 new cards in the inside cover. In addition, there are card packs available, plus, some of the 2010 39 Clues calendars contain a special code that can be entered as do The 39 Clues puzzle and board game.

null

Can you guess the 5 types of cards? Founder, Agent, Location, Secret and Bonus cards. Some cards have a puzzle to solve (those are fun) and many of the cards can be combined online to reveal more secrets. (Kewl). The cards have numbers and symbols which identify them… for example the lower left corner shows the symbol of what branch of the Cahill family the card represents: Lucian, Tomas, Ekaterina or Janus. Along the bottom is an alphanumeric id code, which is what you enter to add it to your collection, and more codes on the right which tell you the rarity of the card (common to ultra rare) and the difficulty level of the puzzle if it has one.

I got card packs 1 and 2 for Christmas (heh heh Santa loves me) and in the Card Pack 1 (for books 1, 2 & 3) I got a duplicate card. Now this is cool, when you get a dup (the number will match but the id codes will be different) they are called Card Replicators and they allow you to add a card to your online collection. So, you can complete a combo or uncover other secrets. You only need one card replicator to add a common or uncommon card but you need three card replicators to add a rare or ultra rare card. Of course, dufus me, I was clicking around (albeit a little recklessly) just to see what it did and accidentally used my replicator on a common card. So, you may… not want to do that. πŸ™‚

BUT get this… in the Card Pack 2 (Branch vs Branch for books 4, 5 & 6) I entered my new cards (no two packs are alike you know) and I got an ULTRA rare card AND it unlocked clue 39!! OMG!! I know what Clue 39 is! Alright, I know, I’m still missing like 30 clues at this point, but it was so fun to see the mini video of the very last clue unlocking. Lips. Sealed.

null

Calendars!! Yeah, I admit I bought all mine after January 1st so they were like half price. What? I was mostly after the cards! Except, they didn’t contain physical cards, but a secret code, which is entered on the same line in the “add cards” area. Okay, you can get the mini calendar OR the wall calendar, either one, same code in both. (The desk calendar doesn’t have the code, but it’s full of 39 clue info. There are engagement calendars too).

Unseal the calendar, find the secret code, log in, add this code the same way you add a card, and a card will pop in. Click the card, and follow the instructions. You will then need to obtain 12 codes to read the message… 12 codes, 12 months in a year, get it? So, the wall calendar design is quite clever in that it has a decoder pocket. Tear out the page for the month, slip it into the pocket and voilΓ , you’ll be able to read the codes. The mini calendar doesn’t have a decoder pocket, so you just have to hunt for the codes on each page.

There will be only 10 books (with 10 clues), but there are 39 clues! So if you are a serious clue hunter, you maaaaaay want to jump online and get busy!

See you on the hunt…
P~

Post Scriptum: Check out the NEW Post cereal contest with more clue hunting fun and great prizes… like a trip to NYC!

null

Purchase The 39 Clues: Card Pack 1, The 39 Clues: The Card Pack 2, The Card Pack 3: The Rise of the Madrigals, 39 Clues Activity 2010 Wall Calendar, 39 Clues 2010 Mini Calendar, 39 Clues Search for the Keys Game, 39 Clues 200 Piece Puzzle from Amazon!

13 Responses to “The 39 Clues Card Packs, Board Game, Puzzle and 2010 Calendars”

  1. The 39 Clues Beyond the Grave by Jude Watson « The Future of Books Says:

    […] 6 new cards in hand, I logged in with my agent id and password to The 39 Clues website, entered my cards like a silly school girl and solved the puzzle using clues in Grace Cahill’s guide book […]

  2. The 39 Clues The Sword Thief by Peter Lerangis « The Future of Books Says:

    […] page numbers… anything amiss? Also, check out the inside cover of each book, opposite of the cards. Any hidden clues in the artwork? Heh heh have […]

  3. The 39 Clues The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan « The Future of Books Says:

    […] I thought, okay, I can do games, Dude, I was a teen (plus) in the 80’s, but what about these collectible cards? After much fretting, I gently removed my 6 game cards from my lovely first edition without […]

  4. The 39 Clues One False Note by Gordon Korman « The Future of Books Says:

    […] on the 39 Clues website, logged in with my password (cuz I’m an agent now) and entered my new cards. Heh heh, my boards are starting to look a little more impressive. I also decided to try a new […]

  5. The 39 Clues The Black Circle by Patrick Carman « The Future of Books Says:

    […] The Future of Books WilliamWuBooks.com Multi-Media Reviews « The 39 Clues Card Packs, Board Game, Puzzle and 2010 Calendars […]

  6. The Amanda Project invisible i by Melissa Kantor « The Future of Books Says:

    […] Multi-Media Reviews « The 39 Clues Beyond the Grave by Jude Watson The 39 Clues Card Packs, Board Game, Puzzle and 2010 Calendars […]

  7. The 39 Clues In Too Deep by Jude Watson « The Future of Books Says:

    […] on to the website with my agent name, gleefully adding them to my growing online collection. (Click here to learn more about the cards!) Naturally I spent a little time (only a little… sorta…) […]

  8. The 39 Clues The Viper’s Nest by Peter Lerangis « The Future of Books Says:

    […] you go, check the inside covers for (of course) your 6 new 39 Clues collectible cards (yay!) but see if you can decode the clue etched into the spears… Naturally, I got my Card […]

  9. The 39 Clues The Emperor’s Code by Gordon Korman « The Future of Books Says:

    […] experience, so I logged on to the website with my secret agent password and entered my 6 new cards (wu-hoo I have so many in my online collection now!) I’ll have you know I have completed all […]

  10. The 39 Clues Storm Warning by Linda Sue Park « The Future of Books Says:

    […] you well know, The 39 Clues is a multimedia storytelling experience, so in addition to the 6 new playing cards that were carefully removed from the inside cover, I also acquired the next Ultimate Card Pack for […]

  11. The 39 Clues Into the Gauntlet by Margaret Peterson Haddix « The Future of Books Says:

    […] entered my 6 new cards (yay) from the inside cover, completed the last mission, and now I need to combine my cards to get more clues, and use my replicators to get more “rare cards”. What? The rare ones […]

  12. Traci Says:

    I create a comment each time I like a post on a website or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    Usually it is triggered by the sincerness displayed in the article I looked at.

    And on this post The 39 Clues Card Packs, Board Game, Puzzle and 2010 Calendars « The Future of Books.
    I was actually excited enough to post a thought πŸ˜› I
    do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it only me or do some of these comments look like left by brain dead visitors?
    πŸ˜› And, if you are posting on other online sites,
    I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post.

    Could you list all of all your communal sites like your Facebook page,
    twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

